"Music is the cup that holds the wine of silence. Sound is that cup, but empty. Noise is that cup, but broken.”

Robert Fripp

"Le rôle de l'artiste créateur est de créer des lois, non pas de suivre celles qui sont déjà faites"
Ferruccio Busoni

"Go, go, go! ... Go! go! ..."
John Lee Hooker


Pozzi Escot

Pozzi Escot is an american composer born in 1933 in Lima, Peru.
Graduate of the Juilliard School and the Musikhochschule in Hamburg, she is author of  "Sonic Design: The Nature of Sound and Music" & "The Poetics of Simple Mathematics in Music", a study of the geometrical grounding and mathematical structure of various music traditions from the Middle Ages, Romantic era, Native American Indians or contemporary European avant-garde.
As a composer, the foremost American critic Virgil Thomson regards her as "to me the most interesting and original woman composer now functioning." 
In 1975 Escot was chosen as one of the five remarkable women composers of the twentieth century and the New York Philharmonic Orchestra premiered her "Fifth Symphony, Sands" (1965).

in conversation with Bruce Duffie

one of her works : Three Poems of Rilke (1959)

Aucun commentaire: