"Music is the cup that holds the wine of silence. Sound is that cup, but empty. Noise is that cup, but broken.”

Robert Fripp

"Le rôle de l'artiste créateur est de créer des lois, non pas de suivre celles qui sont déjà faites"
Ferruccio Busoni

"Go, go, go! ... Go! go! ..."
John Lee Hooker


Herakles 2

"Herakles 2" is a music for 5 brass instruments, drum and sampler
composed by Heiner Goebbels in 1992
Commissioned by the Ensemble Intercontemporain, it was first released in Paris,
then on the 1993 ECM record interpreted by Ensemble Moderne.

The title was taken from prose text in Heiner Muller's play "Zement" which describes Hercules' second task, his struggle with the Hydra.
The structure of the music is inspired by the architecture of the text.

"For a long time, he believed he was still walking through the woods, in the stupefying hot winds that seemed to blow from all directions, making the trees twist like serpents in the immutable dusk, following a barely visible spoor of blood on the steadily shifting ground, alone in his battle with the beast..."

Here live in concert in Hannover, Germany
29th of March 2012
with the music brass Ensemble Schwerpunkt

other Heiner Goebbels' works on "Beyond the coda" : <<<>>>

Aucun commentaire: