"Music is the cup that holds the wine of silence. Sound is that cup, but empty. Noise is that cup, but broken.”

Robert Fripp

"Le rôle de l'artiste créateur est de créer des lois, non pas de suivre celles qui sont déjà faites"
Ferruccio Busoni

"Go, go, go! ... Go! go! ..."
John Lee Hooker


4 men who converse, discuss, argue

Charles Ives (1874-1954) - pic by Halley Erskine - 1946

The second Charles Ives's string quartet, composed in between 1907 and 1913,
 has an argument which is:

"String Quartet N°2"  for 4 men who converse, discuss, argue (Politick'), 
fight, shake hands, shut up, then walk up the mountain side to view the firmament!

the 3 parts of the piece are:
  • Discussion (Andante moderato – Andante con spirito – Adagio molto)
  • Arguments (Allegro con spirito)
  • The Call of the Mountains (Adagio – Andante – Adagio)

"...I started a string quartet score, half mad, half in fun, and half to try out, practise, 
and have some fun making those men fiddlers get up and do something like men"
Charles Ives in "memos"

So, listen to these 4 women who converse, discuss and argue
with the american Ivani Quartet composed by
Abigail Hong, Sophia Szokolay, violins
Aria Cheregosha, viola 
Annette Jakovcic, cello


Aucun commentaire: