"Music is the cup that holds the wine of silence. Sound is that cup, but empty. Noise is that cup, but broken.”

Robert Fripp



"Sinfonia per 8 voci e orchestra" was composed by Luciano Berio in 1968.
This premiere in Germany with the Southwest German Radio Symphony Orchestra
was conducted by Ernest Bour.
This piece is symptomatic from the 60s as it includes different musical quotations from Malher, Schönberg, Stravinsky, Hindemith, Debussy, Ravel, Berlioz...

It uses texts issued from Claude Lévy Strauss ("Le cru et le cuit")  and Samuel Beckett ("L'innommable") sung by 8 amplified voices.

details of the piece on IRCAM website (in french)

2 commentaires:

debout a dit…

Quasiment, au même moment :


Palix a dit…

Luigi Nono l’irremplaçable compositeur engagé sachant mêler instrumental et électronique…
L’écouter parler du silence, de l’espace, des sons mobiles et des sons statiques… en 1983: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bSYoAIZtGY

& https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HkqxGEDqaRk